List of countries whose citizens need a visa for Singapore

Singapore gets millions of tourists every year because, despite its small size, it is overflowing in tourist attractions. Whether you want to enjoy art, nature, one of the best zoos in the world, its high-end malls or some delicious, rich food, then Singapore is the place to go.

If you have made up your mind that the small city-state just off southern Malaysia is worth a trip, but caught yourself second-guessing, “Do I need a visa for Singapore?”, you are very likely in luck. The majority of countries can travel to Singapore visa-free.

For the remainder, the Singapore visa application has been simplified through the e-visa.

Do I Need a Visa for Singapore?

You only need a Singapore visa if you are a national of the countries listed on the tables below.

The countries who nationals require a visa to go to Singapore have been divided in two groups:  Assessment Level I Countries and Assessment Level II Countries.

Assessment Level I Countries

The Assessment Level I Countries whose nationals need a Singapore visa are:

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Moldova
  • The People’s Republic of China (PRC)
  • Russia
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan

Assessment Level II Countries

The Assessment Level II Countries whose nationals need a visa to enter Singapore are:

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Bangladesh
  • Egypt
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kosovo
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tunisia
  • Yemen

In addition, if you hold one of the following documents, you will have to apply for a visa, even if your country is exempt from Singapore visas:

  • A Hong Kong Document of Identity for Visa Purposes
  • The Macao Special Administrative Region Travel Permit.
  • A Palestinian Authority passport.
  • A temporary passport issued by the United Arab Emirates.
  • An alien’s passport, such as a certificate of identity and refugee travel document. The ICA considers the people holding these types of documents as stateless, regardless of what nationality is on their passport.

Singapore Visa Exemptions

You are exempt from a Singapore visa (even if you are a national of an Assessment Level I or II Country) if you hold a diplomatic, service, or official passport.

Visa-free Countries for Singapore

Every other country who was not mentioned on the tables above is exempt from holding a Singapore visa.

Visa-exempt nationals can stay in Singapore without a visa for a maximum of 30 days except for the following countries, who are allowed to stay for 90 days:

  • European Union citizens
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • South Korea
  • Switzerland
  • United States

Do I Need a Visa to Transit Through Singapore?

You do not need a transit visa to pass through Singapore, even if you are a national from an Assessment Level I or II Country, as long as you fill the following conditions:

  • Have a flight ticket for onward travel.
  • Do not leave the transit area of the airport.
  • Do not go through the immigration area.

Some countries can enter Singapore for a short period of time if they are transiting. This is possible due to the Visa-Free Transit Facility (VFTF).

Visa-Free Transit Facility (VFTF)

The Visa-Free Transit Facility allows certain foreign nationals who are transiting through Singapore to enter the country for 96 hours if they fulfill certain conditions.

The Visa-Free Transit Facility is available to specific nationals from the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), Georgia, India, the People’s Republic of China (PRC), Turkmenistan and Ukraine.

If you are a national of India or the People’s Republic of China (PRC) and are transiting to a third country via Singapore, you may be allowed to enter Singapore if:

  • You depart Singapore by air or sea, regardless of the way in which you entered.
  • You have a long-term visa by one of the following countries that is valid for at least another month after leaving Singapore:
    • Australia
    • Canada
    • Germany
    • Japan
    • New Zealand
    • Switzerland
    • United Kingdom
    • United States of America

If you are a national of  the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), Georgia, Turkmenistan, and Ukraine you may be allowed to enter Singapore if:

  • You have a valid onward airplane ticket departing within 96 hours.
  • You depart Singapore by airplane, regardless of the method which you entered.

It is the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) officers at the point of entry who decide whether they allow the entry of the aforementioned nationals in Singapore.

iAdventure Escape
Scan the code